Ultimate Holiday Movie List

As I said before, I have a personal rule that I will not listen to any Christmas music until after Thanksgiving (if I can help it). Well my friends, Thanksgiving has come and gone and I am jamming out to “Sleigh Ride” this very moment. Along with the Christmas music, I will not watch any Christmas movies until after Thanksgiving. My main reason for refraining from watching them is that they are so special to me and I don’t ever want to be sick of them!

Today, I have gathered a list of my top ten favorite Christmas movies. Hopefully your favorite is on the list!

Polar Express

10. Polar Express: As my boyfriend will tell you, I love anything with Tom Hanks in it. Beyond my irrational love for a 56 year-old man, this booked turned movie always brings a tear to my eye (okay, it leaves me bawling).

 

dr-seusss-how-the-grinch-stole-christmas-mobile-wallpaper9. The Grinch: I am going to put both the animated version and the Jim Carrey version together on this one. The first time I saw the animated movie, I was in high school. After hearing that I had never seen this movie, my friend planned an intervention and sat me down to watch it. I instantly loved it. The animated movie is bursting with Dr. Seuss’s genius and has THE BEST music. While the Jim Carrey version may not be as iconic, it has sentimental value to me as my sister and I quote many lines from this movie (Jury duty, jury duty,                                 blackmail…).  I could not leave it off my list.

Prep-and-Landing-DVD

8. Prep and Landing: This is a relatively new kid on my Christmas movie block. It is a short and clever Disney film about the behind-the-scenes team who helps Santa get the job done on Christmas Eve. If you haven’t seen this, I would highly recommend it. Not only will adults and children like this just the same, it also has a phenomenal message behind it.

the-muppet-christmas-carol-poster-121452

7. Muppet’s Christmas Carol: Like many children of the 80s, I adore the Muppets. This movie tells the story of Charles Dickens’ Christmas Carol, but with the Muppet spin. It is a little dark at times, but with the Grim Reaper as a character in any movie, that might be hard to avoid.

 

MV5BMTYyODQzNDk1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTM3MTU1MQ@@._V1._SY317_CR5,0,214,317_6. Home Alone 2: Can a sequel really make it if it is the same movie as the first in a new setting? I would say so! When I was younger I could often relate to Kevin when he shoves Buzz in the beginning. Getting in trouble acting on something one of my sisters started was my life story. This movie may not be as amazing as the first, but still holds a special place in my heart.

 

51QMi5zCK1L5. Elf: Will Ferrell might have been my favorite SNL cast member ever. I went into this movie expecting it to be good, but didn’t know I would be laughing the entire time.  As if the hilarity of this movie was not enough, the soundtrack is rockin’.

 

MV5BMTI1OTExNTU4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzIwMzQyMQ@@._V1._SY317_CR5,0,214,317_4. Christmas Vacation:  This Christmas classic is special to me as it is uniquely relatable to my family. The scene where the family is walking through two feet of snow to get their Christmas tree? Been there, done that. The scene where Clark under estimate how large the tree is and it consumes his living room? Happened pretty much every year for my family.  This movie makes me feel at home, even when I’m a thousand miles away.

SantaClause1MoviePoster3. The Santa Clause: Even though I spend half of this movie being so mad at how bratty Charlie is, this movie makes my top three. It may be directed more towards children, but I love this movie. It is so fun to see Tim Allen transform into Santa and what the job really entails.

 

 

MOV_192f8ebe_b2. Love Actually: If you haven’t seen this movie before, go rent it now! It has almost every British actor you have ever seen.  I can promise that you might spend the first half hour being confused, but hang in there. It is one of those movies that have 10 different stories going on, but they all tie together at the end in a very special way.

 

images1. Home Alone: What an amazing movie, pure cinematic genius. One of the saddest moments ever caught on film would be when Kevin doesn’t have the chance to eat his macaroni and cheese dinner before kicking some bandit butt. With all the one-liners and creative traps, it would take a lot to knock this movie off of #1 for me.

 

I have yet to watch any of these movies, I better get started!

Leave a Reply

