Color Run Miami

Two posts in one day? I’ve been busy, give me a break!

Two weeks ago, I participated in the Color Run Miami. For those of you who haven’t heard about the Color Run 5K, the idea is that you start out with a crisp white t-shirt and every kilometer, you pass through color stations where colored powder is thrown on you. By the time you cross the finish line, you should be looking like a bag of skittles.

Besides the 5:00 a.m. wakeup time, I was pretty excited about this race. We had a group of friends who all signed up for the race, all who we have a great time with. Due to a traffic backup, we arrived to the race a few minutes before the first wave was hitting the course. We found that this was no issue as there were probably 15 waves of people… holy moly. I even had time to purchase my awesome Color Run shades from the merchandise tent.

The course was not that great for Miami. We actually ran behind a sewage plant, complete with broken glass and noise-tingling smells. It still was a great time.

I made sure to run in the “high color lanes”, right next to the people who were throwing the color. I wanted to be sure to be as colorful as possible at the end. Either I wasn’t getting hit with color or it wasn’t sticking, because my tee was still looking pretty fresh at the end.

One of the coolest parts of the Color Run would be the party afterwards. Every 15 minutes, they do a color throw, where everyone throws their package of color that is given to them with registration. The result?

This was a very fun race to be apart of. If the Color Run is coming to a city near you, I would highly recommend you sign up. By no means do you have to be an expert runner, you can even walk the 3 miles if you would like. I’m already looking forward to the Color Run 2013!

Leave a Reply

