Three Cheers to Zoku!

As promised, I finally have the results of my Zoku Popsicle maker. As I mentioned in a previous post, I received this baby as a birthday gift last month. This actually was my third time using it, but I finally have a recipe that I love.

My first try was a simple fruit pop. I just threw a bunch of things together to see what would happen.  The flavor wasn’t anything amazing and I could tell that I would need to add sugar beyond what the fruit had.  

For my second try, I found a recipe for Mint Chocolate Chip Pops. I figured this would be a nice surprise for Danny, since he loves Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream. I ran out to my local Target, bought all the extracts and ingredients, and secretly whipped up a batch. I was so excited to surprise Danny with these, he was sure to love them! I put them in my Zoku and 10 minutes later, I pulled out the minty treat.  The result? A frozen batch of mouthwash. Yuck.

Last night I finally found a “keeper” recipe. I made chocolate fudge pops from a recipe I found on ErinCooks.com. This recipe may be used with a traditional pop maker as well as the Zoku. I went to my local Publix to pick up the ingredients that I didn’t have, and after ten minutes of googling “Malted Milk Powder”, I was ready to go.

Please note: This recipe does take a little time to cool which means you won’t be able to enjoy them right away. Do not try and make them at 9:30 p.m. like I did. Because I made them so late at night and wanted to enjoy them sooner, I put the batch in the freezer to cool them faster. After about 20 minutes, I couldn’t wait any longer. The container was still warm to touch so I figured I would just have to leave them in my Zoku longer. I’m not sure if this has anything to do with the liquid being warm, but the Fudge Pops were very runny after a few minutes.  Nothing a little Shout couldn’t fix though! 

The flavor of these pops is delicious. They reminded me of either hot chocolate or fudge pops, which I love both.  I’m glad we have a little of the mix still left over for those impromptu Fudge Pop cravings. I’m looking forward to more triumphs with my Zoku! 

Image

ImageClassic Fudge Pops
From ErinCooks.Com
Yields 6-9 ice pops

1 3/4 cups half-and-half
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbsp malted milk powder
1 tbsp light corn syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
4 oz semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

In a saucepan, combine the half-and-half, cocoa powder, malted milk powder, corn syrup, vanilla, and salt. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, and cook until the cocoa and milk powder have completely dissolved. Remove the mixture from the heat and add the chopped chocolate. Stir until the chocolate has completely melted. Let cool to room temperature.

If using conventional ice pop molds, divide the mixture among the molds. Cover and freeze until solid, at least 4 hours or up to 3 days. If using sticks, inset them into the molds while the pops are partially frozen, after about 1 hour, then continue to freeze until solid, at least 3 more hours.

If using an instant ice pop maker, follow the manufacturer’s instructions to fill the molds and freeze the pops.

Leave a Reply

