Blast from the Past

This past weekend, I made the coast to coast trip from Fort Lauderdale to Fort Myers. I was able to visit some very important people in my life.

First stop, I visited my friend Amanda, my oldest and dearest friend. Our moms met at the gym where they found out they had a son and daughter in the same preschool (her brother and my sister) and daughters that were born two days apart. From then on, we were inseparable.  In preschool, she would whisper something in my ear and I would speak for her.  Her annoying brother would beat me up just like he was my brother. We had matching outfits and would plan what to wear with each other.  She was the sister I always wanted (sorry Nicole and Anastasia!).

When it came time for Kindergarten, the higher powers above decided we needed to be separated so Amanda went to Developmental Kindergarten. Through dance classes and our strong-friendship, we stayed close until high school. Amanda and I may have parted ways for a brief amount of time, but we always remained friends.

I had the opportunity to head across Alligator Alley to Fort Myers and was so excited to see Amanda. I was slightly nervous as we hadn’t talked in a few years except through Facebook and a few lunch dates with our Moms.  I have absolutely nothing to worry about. When I got there, it was like no time at all had passed between us. We talked for hours, reminiscing and catching each other up on what has been going on for the last past years.  She is A LOT closer than I thought she was. Had it not been for Tropical Strom Debby (You devil, you), I would have made it there in two hours. I can’t wait for our next visit together!

Image

After spending the night at Amanda’s, I headed over to Sanibel Island to visit Danny’s adorable niece Annabelle. She is so stinkin’ cute! The last time I saw Annabelle was at Christmas when she was three months old. It is amazing to see how fast babies grow! She is becoming the cutest little lady who I just want to hug for hours on end. I wish I could see her more often but she lives in Maryland. Why do plane tickets have to be so expensive? Until I see her next, I will spend my days looking at pictures of her adorable face.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

